The Lost Post – Electronic Ignition

I don’t know how this post never made it up. I did this work almost a year ago. I uploaded the photos, but for some reason never wrote the post.IMG_2917

IMG_2929Anyways my mechanic at Dave’s recommended that I switch to an electronic ignition and recommended the Pertronix brand. My boyfriend encouraged me to do some research on the different electronic ignitions and once I was clear on what I was doing he pitched in to help me buy it.

The process was super simple, just follow the instructions that come with the electronic ignition. Remove the distributor cap, pull out the distributor, remove the points, and replace it with the new electronic ignition. IMG_2930

Here are some websites I found useful with installation tips –

IMG_2923http://www.wikihow.com/Install-an-Electronic-Ignition-Conversion-Kit-on-an-Aircooled-Volkswagen-%28VW%29-Beetle

http://www.vw-resource.com/electronic.htmlIMG_2936

The only issue we ran into was where the wires connect to the coil. It only had one prong and we needed two. Easy fix, went to Pep Boys and picked up a box for a few dollars.

The whole swap took less than an hour to complete even with our Pep Boys trip.

I apologize for not having a more detailed post for this swap. I honestly do not know how this slipped through the cracks. It was a fun and simple swap and I wish I remembered in more detail the process to share with you. I can guarantee though that anyone can do this simple swap.

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in Mechanical and Maintance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Lost Post – Electronic Ignition

  1. Eli Rogers says:

    Does your tach work? Mine hasn’t since I put the electronic ignition in 3 years ago… Look like you need a diode and some weird wiring? I’ve got a compu-fire.

  2. Terry says:

    I have a 72 beetle and have electronic ignition the swap is so easy but I keep another distributer with points in the boot cuz sometimes they give up and there is no warning. It took me about 10-12 minutes to make the swap. Remember when you can stop for a few hours to let the engine cool pull the plugs and regap them back down to 24 -28 mm.

Leave a Reply

