Winter in a VW

3180717e4d47664d05f3f08cc06fa64e

Photo Courtesy of – http://www.fotothing.com

So it may not be winter yet, but fall is really in full swing or at least it has been for the last few days and it has reminded me how cruel winters can be in a classic VW. Luckily I live in California so I really don’t have too much to worry about in the coming months, but the last few days with rain (CA standard rain), and temperatures staying cool I have had to pull out my sweaters to layer up and remember how to drive with numb fingers.

Classic bugs have some unique problems when it comes to winter driving, at least in my experience. One of the biggest problems for me is the heater fogging up the windows. With no defroster I’m forced to open my wing windows to keep my windshield clear, but that leads to really numb fingers. Another Beetle problem is the heater itself. My heater used to drive me absolutely crazy. With no temperature control it was either too cold because I had it off or way too hot. Now as I enter my second cold season in my little bug I feel a little more confident in controlling my temperature. I still have to constantly open and close my heater vents, but I am getting better at predicting when to do so in order to keep the cab comfy.

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in The Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter in a VW

  1. Dol says:

    Brings back memories…… : )

Leave a Reply

