A Week Without my Car

Currently I’m carless. My poor Little Bug is sitting in the shop getting some pesky repairs done and it has left me stranded since Friday.

With all the things I did to my engine this summer, my bug was in desperate need for a tune up and was over due for a valve adjustment. I was planning to take it in this past Monday, but before I did that I needed to do an oil change. My oil change is when the problems began to emerge.

IMG_3040While removing the nuts that secure the oil filter and everything else under the engine the entire bolt came out with it. It looked completely stripped. I tried using some artificial thread tightener to put it back in, but it remained super lose. The next morning I woke up to a huge puddle of oil under my car. It remained parked for the rest of the weekend.

Monday I spoke to my mechanic, Dave’s Little Car Shop, and he told me to bring it in Tuesday morning. From there things got worse. Currently my Little Bug is sitting in the shop and will hopefully be ready in a few hours, but only after paying another $1000. He was able to fix the nut that came out, but the oil leak I have had for the last several months has been coming from a main seal in the engine block and he also discovered that my oil cooling house was leaking horribly as well, oil poured out when revved. While examining the car he saw that I needed a brake adjustment, but after the adjustment something went wrong with my master cylinder and I only had brakes 50% of the time. Today while working on it he discovered that my clutch was also going out. On top of that I have asked him to take a look at my horn.

It is a lot of work I wasn’t planning on doing, but hopefully all will go well and it will run perfectly.

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in Mechanical and Maintance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Week Without my Car

  1. Pingback: Really, Life? Really? | Wendy Miller, Romantic Suspense Author

  2. Pingback: Drives Like New | Little Bug

  3. Doll says:

    W H O A ! Hope you don’t give-up on it. : )

Leave a Reply

