That’s all it Took to Fix the Shake

 

I went back to school last week so with the end of summer and start of school I apologize for not posting anything sooner. Now that things are balancing out I am back and will try not to disappoint again. IMG_20130810_131604_986

As summer winded down I was able to make my last attempt to fix my horrible front end shake. As I covered in previous posts I had already installed a new steering damper and tightened my steering box. Everything just seemed to make it worse.

IMG_20130809_174809_783When I had taken it to Dave’s Little Car Shop, Dave had recommended three ways to fix the shake and I only had one more option left. My tires. The tires I had on there were the ones  that my dad had  put on. That meaning they were the same tires that sat for three years while the car was dead. So dangerous to be driving on, I should have replaced them well before now.

I went to America’s Tire to have them put on new tires for me. I was informed that VW bugs were the only car that use 165/15. He told me even the buses have a different size and soon 165/15 would be discontinued, at least by big stores. He talked me into changing to 185/15.IMG_20130810_132453_449

I know you can still buy original tires online, fancy white wash ones too. I could have done that and paid for labor and in fact will probably do that eventually, but for now I am good with these.

The next day I took my bug in for alignment, it was so off.

Since than driving has been perfect. No shake, no pull. So happy, but so upset. The simplest fix was the solution. Wish I would have taken care of this first.

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in Exterior Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’s all it Took to Fix the Shake

  1. Doll says:

    Better late than never – good for you and your perseverance! It’s fun to see this little bug still
    carrying on. I bought it in ’72 and had it until we moved to Granite Bay (’99) and finally gave it to your dad
    around ’01 to ’03 (can’t really remember). So happy it still has a good home. You are amazing. : )

Leave a Reply

