Oil Leak #2 – Fuel Flange Replacement

IMG_2678

For the last few months, probably even longer, IMG_2674I have had a tiny, but persistent oil leak and for the longest time I was unable to locate the problem. With a little assistance I was able to locate two of the culprits, my oil censor, which I replaced awhile back, and my fuel flange.

The oil censor was simple, but the fuel flange was a bit more difficult. The task in itself was simple, but accessing it was a bitch. To get to the IMG_2679flange you must remove the fuel pump, which is held in place by multiple nuts, IMG_2685several which are located out of sight.

To make removal a little easier we removed the distributor, just to give us a little more working space. Once that was out of the way the nuts were still difficult to access. We could reach them now, but could not turn a wrench. To take the nuts off we used one of the newer ratcheting wrenches. IMG_2680I love them they made the task so easy.

Once the fuel pump was removed there was nothing more than just swapping out partsIMG_2681 and gaskets. During this I learned that the gaskets that were in place were barely a piece of paper. I believe that may have been contributing to the leak.

IMG_2683Reassembling was just the reverse of the previous and everything went back in smoothly.

I still have a leak coming from an unknown source, but at least I have fixed two IMG_2688of them and I shall continue to search for the rest.

IMG_2686

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in Mechanical and Maintance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oil Leak #2 – Fuel Flange Replacement

  1. Doll says:

    Good for you, Alex. For as long as I can remember the bug always
    had a “small” oil leak. Good luck with your “ongoing” project. : )

Leave a Reply

