Thank you Mrs. Taylor

I have been blessed to have some of the best teachers in the world. Teachers that have shaped my life and guided me through some of the most difficult times in my life, from grade problems, to friend issues, to more serious matters, like losing my dad. I honestly do not believe I would be who I am or where I am if it was not for all the wonderful teachers and advisers that have came into my life. Many of them, from my first grade teacher Mrs. Revenaugh, to my senior English teacher, Mr. Sabbagh, and my first college professor Ms. Prochasaka, have continued to be a large part of my life; A support group that I can turn to for advice and support when I need it most.

Today I want to share with you one of those very special people in my life. A teacher that, since I began driving stick shift has been more prevalent than usual in my mind. For two years in a row, my junior and my senior year of high school, Mrs. Taylor not only taught me in Parenting and Child Development, but shared stories and advice that have helped and followed me to this day. Mrs. Taylor always shared life stories, the best stories and she had the best life lessons for her students.

The story that has been in my mind reccently is not one of her regulars that she shares, I don’t believe so. I don’t even fully remember what the story was, but something she said during this story really stuck with me and the day I learned to drive stick, it added to the pride I felt.

One day, I don’t even remember if it was my senior year or my senior year, but she shared one of her stories. It may or may not have been the focus of the story she was telling, but she talked about learning to drive stick. It was something around the lines of never wanting to be vulnerable or stuck somewhere because of not being able to drive anything that was available. Going out on a date or something like that and being stranded because your date is drunk and drives a stick. I don’t know, I don’t remember the details, I just remember the point of being empowered rather than vulnerable.

Honestly, at the time this really didn’t stick with me, really didn’t mean that much, but as soon as I learned to drive a stick I understood what she meant. I understood how good it feels to know that you can drive anything, you never have to be stranded somewhere, just because you only know how to drive a manual. Plus being able to drive stick, is a really cool bragging right, especially for a woman, another thing I think she may have said.

Even if it didn’t sink in til later, I just want to say – thank you Mrs. Taylor for this and so much more, and you were completely right.

 

6a00d8341c5b6153ef01157155bd5d970b-300wi

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in The Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

