I Love Driving My Car

Valentine’s Day, a day for love, so I figured it only appropriate to talk about why I love driving my car.

When I first got my car, or I should say, when I first started driving my car I was scared. I was first afraid I wouldn’t be able to catch onto driving a stick shift. Once I got over that I didn’t think I would enjoy driving it just because it took too much brain power – first gear, excel, shift into second, excel, and so on. It just took too much thinking. It is especially nerve raking in LA’s stop and go traffic or driving down a busy street.

However, over the last few months on several occasions my car has blown my mind and proved me wrong. On several occasions I have even found myself thinking, “I love my Little Bug.”

I first had this thought driving down Amar Road, leaving Mount San Antonio College. I had just had an awesome afternoon visiting with some old counselors and co-workers, so that may have had something to do with it, but the street was clear and driving was smooth. I don’t think I can even appropriately describe the feeling of driving down that street, but the way my Little Bug felt climbing up and down Amar’s little hills and moving with it’s slight little curves, was just amazing.

I thought this was just a one time thing, but again driving home late from school taking this little road, Brea Boulevard, that runs along the 57 and that same feeling came over me. I believe I love driving my car, specifically on the open road, because I love the way it feels. I feel power, safe, in control, and one with my Little Bug. It also gives a feeling of reconnecting with my dad in some odd way.

Now I find myself looking for the chance to take my Little Bug out on an open road whether it be taking the freeway late at night or driving down open side streets that climb, wind, and curve.

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in The Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

