One Problem…I Don’t Know How to Drive

So what was supposed to be two weeks in reality turned out to be over a month, but in early September I was finally able to pick up my Little Bug. There was just one small problem, I still had no clue how to drive a stick shift.

My dad’s early attempts to teach me had only discouraged me and I really had not tried since then. I understood the concept behind stick and how it worked. I have taught people how to drive a stick, I just hadn’t been able to do it myself. One thing was different this time around though, I now had no choice. The bug was my car, and I needed to drive.

A family friend drove the bug home for me, but as soon as we got to the front of my house he made me move to the drivers seat and take it around the block. Amazingly it came a lot easier than I had expected. I spent the next two weeks driving around my neighborhood with my dog until I finally got the hang of it and was ready to take it out for real. Of course there was plenty of stalling, and honking, and frustration, but in the end it was totally worth it.

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in The Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

