The Hunt for a Repair Shop

The original plan to get my Little Bug’s engine running again was to buy a rebuilt engine and have my brother put it in for me. I went through about three different places where I was going to buy a rebuilt engine from, prices ranging from $400 to $800, but every time I would get down to picking up the engine my brother would back out or something would come up.

After about six months I finally got fed up and decided I was going to spend a little more and just put the bug in a shop and have them do it all, so much easier than said. I did not realize how hard it would be to find a local shop, that I could trust, and would charge me a reasonable price. The first place I found seemed really shady. The next place I seriously considered was going to charge nearly $2,000 and that was at the absolutely cheapest end. Finally I found DAPS VW Repair.

http://www.dapsvwrepair.com/

They were a little of a drive, but their prices and warranties seemed reasonable. The reviews I found online were good, and most of all, talking to them on the phone, they seemed like a serious, knowledgeable company, that was friendly and I could trust.

In late July with the help of my boyfriend and his dad I loaded up my Little Bug and towed it into Riverside. The estimated time was two weeks.

About Simply Alex

A graduate of CSUF with my BA in Communications - Entertainment and Tourism Studies. I love food, photography, music, and writing. New to Hawaii by way of sunny SoCal.
This entry was posted in The Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

