How Presidential Ice Cream Almost Killed Me

All I wanted was ice cream and to support a good cause, it almost killed me and my best friend.

So this took place a few months ago right around election time. There is a Farrell’s Ice Cream Parlour not to far from my house, just in a neighboring city. To get to this Farrell’s it is important to note that you have to venture over a quite step hill. For the election Farrell’s had special presidential sundaes. A Boston Creme Pie inspired sundae for Romney and a Tropical Sundae for Obama. Farrell’s was holding their own special election and people could cast their presidential vote by ordering a sundae. On this particular day Farrell’s was also raising money for Hurricane Sandy. images

I don’t remember exactly why, but I was feeling a little down this day and wanted to go eat my feelings in ice cream. So I grabbed my best friend and we went to go binge in ice cream while feeling good about ourselves for helping a good cause. The ride their went smoothly and after stuffing ourselves silly and laughing at all our problems, we loaded our chunky selves into my Little Bug and headed home.

Everything went well until we hit the hill. At the base of the hill their is a light they rarely ever changes, this particular day it did. I started to brake well in advance and began to slow, but as I approached the light I realized my car wasn’t going to stop. The sad part of this story is that I had slowed down so much that it didn’t even look like I was running the red light, instead I looked like a idiot inching into the intersection. Luckily no cars were coming. Now looking back on this I realize that the minute I realized I wasn’t going to stop and no cars where coming I should have thrown the car back in gear and just ran. Oh the things you realize in retrospective.

That weekend I decided it was time to adjust my brakes. Now I make sure to check my brakes regularly.

 

Leave a Reply

